How to Handle Liquidity Pool trades

HI. I’m a newbie. I’ve been messing around with Pooling tokens and then staking them. So coin A pooled with coin B which gives me token C. When these transactions are auto imported I get three different transactions, a Sent A, sent B, and received C. With C being an unknown coin. What’s the best way to handle these transactions? My first thought was to create two manual trade transactions, one for Coin A to 50% of the C token, and then Coin B for the other 50% of the C token. However this does not work because I can only enter a manual transaction for supported coins, and since there are a ton of pool pairs I’m not sure how that would work.

Any tips? Thanks

Hi James,

That’s a very good question. Tax calculations for providing/removing liquidity present some challenges for various reasons:

• Multiple tokens are part of the same transaction/trade (eg: token A + token B sold for token C)
  • There are thousands of different LP tokens with the same symbol/ticker that must be identified and considered separately when disposing of those tokens later (when removing liquidity).
  • Some pools don’t have linear collateral, meaning you might deposit 20% USDC and 80% ETH instead of 50-50 which is the most common

The short answer to your questions is that we don’t yet have full support for handling LP tokens for all the different platforms and protocols, but our developers are currently working on a big upgrade to this that we expect will be completed sometime next month.

Instead of importing Sent A + Sent B + Received C as you said, we will import two trade transactions this way assuming the collateral is 50-50:

• Token A → Token C (50%)
  • Token B → Token C (50%)

Token C will be automatically identified from the contract address so that all LP tokens are tracked individually. When you later remove liquidity, you will see two trade transactions again

• Token C (50%) → Token A
  • Token C (50%) → Token B